News, Gossip, Entertainment, Metro, Sports, Education and lots more!



Tuesday, 16 May 2017

Names on Daily Times Heroes Award List...Linda Ikeji Included

What may turn out to be the biggest media award in Nigerian history is set for Abuja, the nation’s capital city as Daily Times of Nigeria formally unveils names of those considered worthy of its recognition. The award ceremony is part of activities to mark the 91st anniversary of Nigeria’s foremost newspaper.

In a statement made available to the media on Monday, Daily Times Publisher/Chairman of Folio Media Group, Fidelis Anosike said Nigeria has so many citizens and statesmen who have made contributions towards national development and are therefore qualified for the Heroes Award, adding however that a few were nominated for the award after painstaking processes, since according to him, it is not possible to bring all Nigerian heroes for recognition under one platform.

According to him, many journalists and publishers made it to the list due to the challenges practitioners in the industry have had to face over the years with several of them having to make the supreme sacrifice while discharging their legitimate duties to the nation and to humanity. Apart from journalists, publishers and other practitioners in the media industry, many politicians, administrators and other professionals including Nollywood actors and actresses are to receive the Heroes Award.

Among media personalities on the list are Babatunde Jose, John Momoh of Channels Television, Linda Ikeji, Nduka Obiagbena and Chris Ubosi while Nollywood has the likes of Pete Edochie. Former presidents OlusegunObasanjo and Goodluck Jonathan were among civilian leaders while Gen. Yakubu Gowon, former Head of State is the only former Military Head of State listed.

Captains of industry, serving governors and other professionals including the clergy were not left out as the governors of Anambra, Rivers, Borno, Kogi, Abia and Lagos states among others are on the list. The Minister of State for Petroleum IbeKachukwu, Chairman of Heirs Holding Tony Elumelu and Paul Adefarasin and many others are also billed to receive the award.

No comments:

Post a Comment